Chloe Dewe Mathews: Photographer

Chloe Dewe Mathews: Photographer

Chloe Dewe Mathews is one of the most exciting young photographers in Britain today. After graduating from Oxford University, she worked in film for three years before pursuing a career as a photographer. She has since published in the Times, the Independent and Dazed & Confused, and has exhibited all over the world. She talks to IdeasMag about the importance of spontaneity…

I worked on a series of big features in the film industry, like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Breaking and Entering and The Other Boleyn Girl.

It was fascinating to be part of that massive industry and to work with hundreds of other people from different trades – all to create one thing. But the more I got involved, the more the hierarchy of the film industry started to weigh on me.

I realised it takes 10 years to be able to be the creator, and I wasn’t really sure whether I wanted to be a cinematographer or a production designer. I felt very engaged and involved and was quite quickly given a few opportunities, but I got frustrated with the hugeness of it all, the excess of it, and I realised I wasn’t being creative. There was no room for spontaneity.

via Chloe Dewe Mathews: Photographer.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

