Invisible Interview & Photo Essay: Scott A. Woodward | Invisible Ph t grapher Asia

Scott A. Woodward is an editorial and documentary photographer based in Singapore. His work has been featured in National Geographic Magazine, The New York Times, and GQ to name a few. We previously featured his essay on Singapore’s infamous red light district. Scott shares more in this Invisible Interview.

Invisible Ph t grapher Asia: Can you tell us about yourself and how you got into photography?

Scott A. Woodward: I grew up in a house filled with photography; hanging on the walls of my childhood home in Ontario, Canada are images my father has made, himself an avid and accomplished amateur photographer. When I was a young boy, he taught me how to operate a manual camera, skillfully interpret light and imaginatively compose an image.

It was January 2004, and I was at a Chinese New Year dinner with some colleagues from American Express when I was posed this question: “If you had all the money in the world, what would you do for the rest of your life that would bring you joy?” I immediately knew my answer: I would travel around the world and take photographs. I decided then to make photography a more significant part of my life.

On December 26, 2004, the Asian tsunami decimated communities across the continent, claiming hundreds of thousands of lives. This day was also my 30th birthday. The events of that fateful day, combined with my milestone birthday, caused me to reflect on my life and take a leap of faith. I decided then to resign from my job at American Express in order to pursue my photography dream full time.

via Invisible Interview & Photo Essay: Scott A. Woodward | Invisible Ph t grapher Asia.

Leave a Reply

